Investing in Yourself – My budget non-negotiables

14143468_11519923_pm

Let me start by saying I’m a HUGE fan of the “Treat Yo Self” motto but I’m also the first person to treat myself straight into a maxed out credit card and minimum payments. There’s nothing cute about that! I’m much more responsible these days, so as I took a look at my budget for the fourth quarter I became stuck on a question: What things do I need to be my best self? I settled on these three things. 

  1. Nails, Nails, Nails

Getting my nails done twice a month is important to me. I can cut back to once a month with DIY manis & pedis in the winter months, but essentially, keeping my nails maintained is something I must do. It helps me to feel more put together during the days that I’m not. Plus, have you ever looked at someone’s hands only to see chipped polish or dry cuticles? Whether we like to admit it or not, there’s usually a judgement made about that person’s value on grooming. As a professional, I’d like to be taken seriously down to the last detail.

2. Massages

I have a membership to Massage Envy and typically go monthly for a 2 hour massage and/or facial.

I’ve found that massages are truly a form of therapy for me. I think people underestimate the power of touch and the role it plays in our emotional well being. That coupled with the relief of tension in my muscles makes it a no brainer in my budget. If you have a chance, read this article that explains in a little more detail the psychology of touch.

3. Brunch

I love brunch! Add in bottomless mimosas, girlfriends, and my favorite CHANEL sunnies and I’m good to go! Whether it’s Saturday or Sunday, I value spending quality time with my friends over a filling and usually inexpensive meal. Its been so hectic trying to find time in my schedule for my loved ones and creating a regular routine for us all to connect has proven to be worth the extra expense. It’s important to surround yourself with people who love you and restore your energy for the next week, thus, the brunch budget stays!

These 3 non-negotiables help me to be a better version of myself which in turn allows me to be of greater service to others. I encourage you to find something that makes you a better you and hold on to that. I’m all ears. How do you invest in yourself?

Leave a Reply

