Hello September!

Can you believe it’s already September?! I have no idea where 2015 has gone but I must say that I’m thrilled to be emerging from the craziness of August. I needed to step away from the blog chiefly due to my apartment catching fire. IMG_3656Lessons on fire safety will be coming soon! Dealing with the insurance, an unexpected move, and attempting to still work on graduate school applications has been one of the most difficult juggling acts I’ve performed in a while. Oddly enough, it’s finally brought me some perspective to begin the new month with.

I’ve began to focus on the things that I can actually control and relinquish things I can’t. The fire could have been much worse, and considering that I was asleep on the couch that’s just outside of the frame to the left, I could have been physically harmed. With that in mind, I’ve shifted to a mindset of gratitude by choosing to speak or write what I’m grateful for before I complain about something not going right.

I’ve also decided to work with time and not against it. I’ve been struggling with my current role at work for the last year because I’m chronically overworked, leaving very little time and energy to see friends or pursue my long term goals. This month I’m not working into the wee hours of the morning. I pursue work from 9-6, fun with friends after 6 pm, and am totally dedicated to my goals on the weekends when I have the most time to focus on me. Accepting the reality of where I am professionally has allowed me to forgive myself for not being able to bounce back from an all nighter like I could in college.

Lastly, I’m putting my money where my dreams are. I’ve been stalled on my goals not only due to my aforementioned time issue, but because I was always under the impression that I needed to have all the facts lined up before making a financial investment of any kind. It isn’t a huge step, but I’ve set aside money to pursue my first big project which is hiring someone to help me write two business plans. I’m a dreamer, not a doer, so I’m excited to work with someone who will help keep me actionable in the coming months.

I’m THRILLED to see what this month has to offer. Cheers to new beginnings!

Leave a Reply

