How To Determine Workplace Values

Growing up, I was under the impression that changing jobs frequently was frowned upon. My parents were both very stable in their roles for many years. I remember how panicked my dad was when he was laid off during the recession, and how stressed my mom was before she made the move to a job that allowed her to spend more time with us. Looking back, I guess maybe I decided that, that wasn’t something I was going to deal with. I want to be in control of my career as much as possible, so I’ve chosen to job hop to find a balance.  Millennials are literally changing the idea of the traditional view work every single day. Passion comes before paycheck, adventure defeats stability, and progress is no longer an arrow pointed straight up. I’ve had five jobs in the two years I’ve been out of school.  In each role I’ve taken on, I can say that I found what I needed at that time in my life. When I decided that I was entering into a new season, or that the role was no longer a good fit, I left. After the first few job hops I stopped feeling guilty. I think that women are more prone to apologizing for creating a life that works for them. Too often we let outside forces dictate what we do and it’s really time to stop that. I have to say that it’s not really about how many tries it takes you to find something that works, but how you transition. Only you can determine why you want to leave, so for now I’ll just give you tips on how to make the move.

  • Always give two weeks…even if the job is hell.
  • Don’t burn bridges. That boss you’re thinking of telling off is oddly more connected than you think. You never know when you’ll need help from a former employer or coworker and you should always leave yourself in a position to ask for it.
  • Leave something behind for your replacement if appropriate. I created manual for two roles I left behind. I remembered what it was like to not have any training for my position and I felt like the company really needed it. That action led to them paying me to stay longer to assist with the transition and really showed my leadership abilities to my boss.
  • Save. If you don’t have a next step lined up, at least wait until you have a month’s worth of expenses saved. Trust me, proving a point is not worth being unemployed and out of luck.
  • Communicate. This blog is based off of my experience, so trust me when I say that a solid 90% of the things you feel are not going well can be resolved by a mature and well timed conversation with your boss. It’s not easy but it is apart of getting older and developing trust and core work values.

Image Via

One thought on “

  1. deliriouspancake says:

    I got 3 full time jobs so far, 1 was before I enter uni and 2 jobs after. They each last between 6months to 15 months. I felt pretty guilty for leaving my jobs after all the effort they trained me but I was really not happy. So finding jobs were not easy either because interviewers call me a job hopper and some I believe did not bother to contact me for an interview at all after they saw my resume. Am very depressed about it as I personally do want to work for a company that I can just grow old with. You can’t bad mouth past employer in interview (my first job the boss was a vulgar psychopath and the environment is sexually harrassing). How i wish employers these days can give ‘job hoppers’ a chance.

Leave a Reply

